The Enemy of Discontent and Dissatisfaction

Ever have one of those days where you find yourself in need of an attitude adjustment? Maybe things normally easily overlooked become unbearably irritating. Perhaps the cares and concerns of life suddenly overwhelm. Just like it’s easy to tell when someone’s coming down with a cold, it’s usually not tough to spot someone battling a crappy attitude. (Yup, I just said crappy.) My personal tell tale signs include crankiness, complaining, being short with those around me, and a noticeable absence of my usually cheerier self. I think those are probably ordinary symptoms of this common malady.

I don’t particularly like myself on those days. Over the past few years I’ve become aware enough to be able to self-diagnose when this particularly unflattering condition presents itself in my heart and mind. But what good is a diagnosis without a prescription? There are lots of things that may provide some temporary relief. Ice cream. Chocolate. Fluffy blanket and a favorite book. Boxing gloves and a punching bag. The trouble is, those things are really only treating the symptoms…none of them get to the heart of the matter.

So what is the proper treatment for an attitude adjustment day? Thankfulness.

We would worry less if we praised more. Thanksgiving is the enemy of discontent and dissatisfaction. –Harry A. Ironside

I know, predictable. But it’s Thanksgiving week – a perfect time to celebrate the positive effects of thankfulness. In those moments when I’m busy despising myself because of my terrible attitude, the only thing that can effectively pull me out of it is gratitude. Getting started is sometimes challenging; I find myself being thankful for what seem to be very silly things. Eventually though, the dam breaks and I begin to remember all the incredible things in my life. Crappy attitudes can’t withstand a flood of thanksgiving!

There’s a Facebook meme going around this month where each day people post something they’re thankful for. I like the idea, but I’m way too late to jump on that bandwagon. Instead, I’ll just give you the whole month’s list here and now. Here is my Thanksgiving flood, a guaranteed attitude adjustment!

  1. I’m thankful for froyo, breakfast, ice cream, warm beverages, sushi, chocolate, popcorn, hummus, and Thai food.
  2. I’m thankful for doorstep deliveries of puppy chow and impromptu Stinkies baking on cold, very hard days.
  3. I’m thankful for what God’s done in my dad’s life this year; getting to sit next to him in church most Sundays and hearing him pray over meals is pretty incredible.
  4. I’m thankful for perfect running weather days.
  5. I’m thankful for Apple gadgets and the means to procure them.
  6. I’m thankful I have a brother who I get along with. This wasn’t always the case (I mean the getting along, not the existence of the brother).
  7. I’m thankful that my brother is stateside right now and not off fighting a war.
  8. I’m thankful for rekindled extended family relationships.
  9. I’m thankful for my organizational skills, even on the days when they make me feel less like a real creative.
  10. I’m thankful for local restaurants, shops, and galleries.
  11. I’m thankful for Lola the kitty because it’s nice to have something cuddly around.
  12. I’m thankful that I have a warm home in a good neighborhood that’s close to where I work (but I’m still trying to sell so if you’re interested in owning a condo, hit me up!).
  13. I’m thankful for mentors.
  14. I’m thankful for friends who bring fun, trust, growth, comfort, and love to my life.
  15. I’m thankful for my wonderful church family.
  16. I’m thankful for new, unforeseen opportunities, even when it means getting Doritos crumbs rubbed onto my back or almost daily questions about how my imaginary son is doing.
  17. I’m thankful for a job where I can do the creative stuff I love in an environment that’s supportive, alongside great people, and for a purpose that’s lasting.
  18. I’m thankful for each chance I get to worship with incredible musicians who have hearts that follow passionately after God.
  19. I’m thankful for all the communication methods I have at my fingertips that allow me to keep in touch with people I love no matter where they might be (I’m looking at you from across the pond Mel Lewis, my most far-flung friend!).
  20. I’m thankful for heath and an ever-increasing knowledge base on how to take care of and protect my body.
  21. I’m thankful for chiropractic adjustments, therapeutic massage, and physical therapists who double as personal trainers.
  22. I’m thankful to be writing songs again.
  23. I’m thankful that the cement wall I’d built around my heart is crumbling and for all the emotions that come with it, even when they’re overwhelming.
  24. I’m thankful for Sundae Sunday.
  25. I’m thankful for hugs.
  26. I’m thankful for green; reminds me of things that are alive.
  27. I’m thankful for farmer’s markets filled with fresh foods.
  28. I’m thankful for strong shoulders to cry on when I don’t want to cry alone.
  29. I’m thankful for an amazing future to look forward to.
  30. I’m thankful to be a daughter of Papa God.

What are a few things you’re thankful for?

3 thoughts on “The Enemy of Discontent and Dissatisfaction

  1. I am SOOOO thankful for you! You are a HUGE encouragement and inspiration! I love you girl and miss you like crazy!
    Thankful that God knows what you need right when you need it! That He does not require us to be be perfect, but He meets us where we are at – Thankful for HIS AMAZING GRACE!

  2. Oh yes. Grace is gooood! I just heard an Andy Stanley podcast that covered 2 Chronicles 12…Paul asks God to remove the thorn from his side, whatever it was, and astoundingly God refused his request! “My grace is sufficient. My power works best in weakness.” That’s a tall order, allowing God to show his power through your weakness…still not sure I’ve fully grasped that one…

    Love you too, Mel!!!

Leave a Reply

