Thirtysomething

I’m thirtysomething.

I know, it’s shocking. I am, after all, fairly cool. I’m told I have pretty okay hair. I can wear leg warmers and totally pull them off. I’ve seen all the Twilight movies (whether that’s good or bad, I leave to you to decide). Not too long ago, I got carded while buying a green glass bottle of salad dressing at Horrock’s. In spite of all this, my driver’s license still claims I caught the tail end of the 70s.

Not that I’m lamenting years passed; my thirties have actually treated me quite well thus far, arguably better than my twenties.

Yeah…Jamie Cullum didn’t quite capture what my twenties were like, but I imagine he’s close for a lot of people. 😉

I just remember being a kid and thinking that adults had it all together.

20-something looks similar to 30-something, no?

They had experience enough to know how to respond to whatever life brought their way. They always knew what to do and how to behave. I figured that I’d recognize when I became a grown-up because the world would suddenly make sense. Now that I’m solidly entrenched in adulthood, I realize that those grown-ups I looked up to as a kid were still learning, still trying to fit the puzzle pieces of life together, still sorting out their place in the world…just like I am now. The weirdest part is, I’m beginning to suspect that this is kinda how it’s gonna be for the rest of my life.

Perhaps coming to that revelation is what actually marks entry into the world of the grown-ups?

Growth can be quick…it certainly has been that way for me this year. When I think back to January and consider all the changes I’ve navigated (or made)…it’s incredible. There are plenty of missteps and I’m certain I didn’t always get it just right, but I’m so excited to be on the path and see the scenery around me changing as I move forward into what God has for me.

Pastor Kevin quoted part of Psalm 73 today in our staff meeting. Afterward I looked up the entire chapter and found it so encouraging. Whatever the mistake, regardless of the failure, I can say, “Yet I still belong to you; you hold my right hand” (verse 23). So even if I’m uncertain, He isn’t…and He is always with me.

My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever. -Psalm 73:26

Forever. As a child, as a teenager, as a young adult…someday, as a wife and a parent…He’s mine. I don’t know about you, but that makes me excited for the future.

But fortysomething…yeah…you can stay right where you are. I’m in no hurry to hang out with you just yet.

9 thoughts on “Thirtysomething

  1. Haha. YES! I can relate. When I was “young” all the adults seemed to know how to go about life. They knew the answers. They directed me on what to do and where to go and WHEN to go. Now that I’m a thirtysomething, I’m finding that there’s a whole lot more decisions to make and experiences to have. I thought by now I WOULD have all the answers… but in this moment… I am thankful I don’t. If I knew everything, there’d be no reason to keep trying, learning and growing. I am LOVIN’ my thirties!

    • I feel the same way, Alana. The day we figured it all out would be the day that our drive for living would end. Isn’t it funny how most of us dread turning 30? I kinda feel like the fun part STARTED with 30!

  2. Amen. 🙂 My thirties have been much more kind than my twenties ever were, and for that I’m grateful. It’s funny how growing older seems like such a daunting thing, but when you get to your thirties, life just seems to… exhale. That breath of relief and the hopefulness for what’s to come comfort me and remind me to keep striving for more everyday. I’m more comfortable in my own skin and I know what I want out of life now, which is a fabulous feeling. Cheers to our thirties!

  3. Who would have thought that it would take me 35 years to finally figure out (or be told) what the correct prayer is…less clarity, more trust. As soon as I asked Papa for that…BAM!!! He delivered in ways I never would have imagined. Oh yeah…my thirties are sooooooooooooooooooooooo gooooooooooooooooooooood!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

