Neglect or Nurture?

So…before I launch into today’s blog post, how are you doing answering people’s big question? Yesterday I had the opportunity to chat with a dear friend’s young son who recently had his tonsils out. This little dude also fractured his arm last month, so he’s had quite a time of it. But he’s a fighter! I told him he was a champ for making it through such a scary surgery. I think I saw a light in his blue eyes. Keep sewing encouraging words into the people who cross your path…I can’t wait to hear your stories!

Now then. Back to the issue at hand.

You know when autumn is just rolling in and you get your coat out for the first time? For me, one of the more enjoyable fall experiences is digging into my pockets and finding all the random things I left there when I last wore it all those months before. Movie tickets, receipts, lip balm, hair ties…if I’m lucky, maybe a $20 bill. It’s like a treasure from a forgotten time; neglected and left behind until the day the weather got chillier and I had to dig the jacket out of the back of my closet.

photo 2This weekend I experienced the spiritual equivalent of that rediscovered money. Although in my case it’s probably a bit more valuable than twenty bucks.

On Saturday I was privileged not only to participate in the February Rebeltown Lansing meeting, I got to lead the group in a song. It was a precious time of resting in the presence of the Lord. When the worship and prayer drew to a close, one of the women visiting from Rebeltown Indy spoke up. She’d asked God that night when he was going to heal her hurting foot. Then, when I began to sing, she felt warmth and itching like what comes when a wound is healing, and her foot felt better. As I listened to her, all I could think of was a word spoken over me this past summer: I would be like the woman with the issue of blood, pressing in to touch the hem of His garment, but not for myself because I would be taken care of. I would press in for the needs of others and people would say that if a miracle is called for, see Amanda.

I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t done much of anything with that word. For the first week or so after I heard it I watched for opportunities to pray with people, but it wasn’t long before it got filed away somewhere in the back of my mind. When God chose to heal as I sang, the word came rushing back to me. I feel a burden to nurture this gift, to explore it, to find out what I need to do to honor it instead of waste it. I don’t really know yet what that process will look like, but I’m ready to figure it out.

What about you? Are there gifts you possess that you’ve left neglected? Promises you’ve hidden away and left to gather dust? Words spoken over you that you’ve disregarded? What can you do to dig out those precious things, shine them up, and make the most of them? What will you commit to do in the coming weeks that will give you a solid start toward nurturing all that potential?

Go ahead, check your coat pockets and rescue your long lost treasures. Let’s navigate this process together!

3 thoughts on “Neglect or Nurture?

  1. Ohmygosh, I LOVE this! To have a word spoken over you IS an amazing gift. It is awesome that when you had this experience this weekend it brought to the front of your prophecy and now you are dusting that off and looking again for ways/opportunity to apply it.

    In 2004, it was prophesied over me that I would have an influence over people in power. They specifically referenced drug lords. For awhile I kept that in the forefront of my mind, but lately, until I read your post, I had forgotten about it. I struggle with prophecies because I WANT to believe them, but sometimes I wonder if it is just people being “spiritual” and making up things tp speak over others so they feel good about themselves. To my knowledge, I have not had any direct contact with drug lords, but that is not to say it won’t happen in the future.

    • Oh, I’ve definitely had some silly “prophetic words” spoken over me throughout the years. I wish I had a dollar for every time someone prophesied the date of my eventual marriage! (All prophesied dates have since passed without nuptials.) I think you’re right, sometimes people speak in order to bolster themselves, or they speak what they think you want to hear. That’s why it’s so important to be discerning. I think the Holy Spirit inside you can give you the, “heck yes!” or the “not so much” gut-level knowing, you know?

Leave a Reply

