Away from Safe Harbor

matthew schulert photographyLast week I had the joy of performing an original song with a full band in front of hundreds of people. Standing on that stage with the Taylor, singing those words that evolved over several writing worship sessions with Daddy, watching people all over the sanctuary pop up and start clapping and singing along to a song they’d never heard before…it was surreal. I’ve been writing for my eventual album for months now, but that experience seemed to make the vision more concrete. It was a glimpse into the future.

Backstage at church yesterday morning, I chatted with two of the guitar players on worship team about me recording an album. One of them mentioned that he could totally see me successfully recording and the other enthusiastically agreed. It was good to hear that from peers I love and respect. I shared with them that until recently, the idea of recording an album seemed so out of reach, so impossible, that I didn’t dare dream about it. What if I set my hope on recording and it never happens? What if I try and fail? Plus, for so long I simply didn’t have anything to say. I’d sit down to write and nothing would come. I got to the point where dreaming started to hurt. So I laid it down.

There are way too many things I laid down in my twenties. But the good news is, I’m picking them up in my thirties.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” -Mark Twain

There’s an element of risk in allowing yourself to dream big. But I’ve come to believe that element is found in anything worth pursuing – friendship, parenting, family, goals, love – all the things that make life worth living. Which is why I’m determined to sail away from the safe harbor. It’s far better than staying anchored in the same place!

So watch for my album…’cause I’m writing it now. And if you’d like to hear my new song, it’ll be part of the worship service at Mount Hope on August 19. I’d welcome you to come sing along!

*****

Thanks to my friend Matt for the amazing photos used above (and that still hang in my office six years later). See more of his work here.

Leave a Reply

