Liar Liar, Pants on Fire

Remember on the playground if someone said something untrue about you (for little girls, it was usually something about a boy we secretly had a crush on), there was a go-to comeback? One little “Liar liar, pants on fire” and both parties walked away relatively unscathed. The stakes were so low in those days. Embarrassment, perhaps grounding, were often the most horrifying things on the line.

Funny how adulthood ratchets everything up.

When I was a kid, I remember believing that adults would behave better than my childhood contemporaries. Looking up to them, they certainly seemed to have less drama in their world. Now that I’m part of that world, I realize the drama is still there. It’s just not as loud. Instead of being delivered directly and immediately shot down with a sing-songy rhyme, the barbs come in the form of a rumor whispered or a vaguebook post. In the grown up world, it’s not just embarrassment that we worry about. It’s reputation, relationships, jobs, family, and mental, emotional, and physical health.

I’m a firm believer that mature adults do not instigate or participate in this sort of thing. But some people never grow up. And it’s not Peter Pan cute.

When accusation or rumor touch my life and I am tempted to shout “Liar!” or lay hands on the mouthbreather *wink* with extreme force, there are many ways I find comfort. I know that those closest to me, the people who matter most in my life, always stand ready to believe the best and defend the rest. With them on my side, what does it matter what anyone else believes? I am also thankful in those moments for my Advocate. He lives to intercede for me and stands in the presence of the Father to represent me.

He stripped all the spiritual tyrants in the universe of their sham authority at the Cross and marched them naked through the streets. (Colossians 2:15, MSG)

There is always rest and peace to be found, whether the need presents itself on the playground or in the workplace.

Leave a Reply

